Show/Hide
News Review
Summer Night Lights provides free fun for young people
Activities planned throughout the season
Posted Date: 5/18/2017
CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. -- Mayor Kim McMillan is excited to invite young people in the Clarksville community to a summer program filled with free food and fun activities designed to help young people fight the summertime blues and boredom.

The fifth season of the Mayor’s Summer Night Lights program will kick off June 5 with 5-on-5 basketball tournaments and continue at various locations throughout the summer with DJs, athletic competitions, arts and crafts, local music performances and even a step show featuring fraternities and sororities from Austin Peay State University.

“We created the Mayor’s Summer Night Lights program, which was inspired by a successful program in Los Angeles, to provide teens with a positive way to spend their time during the summer months,” Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan said. “This is a free program offered by the City of Clarksville that includes 15 evenings of activities and food. I encourage young people to get involved and add some fun to their summer.”

The fun begins Monday, June 5 at the Kleeman Recreation Center with 5-on-5 Basketball Tournaments for players age 14 and older. Participants must sign up at the center no later than 5:45 p.m.

Summer Night Lights, coordinated by the Clarksville Parks & Recreation Department, continues at six locations on Mondays and Wednesdays from 5:30 to 9 p.m.through July 26. The program is designed for teens, but all ages are welcome. A meal is provided free of charge by Manna Café each night of the program.

Here is the complete Summer Night Lights schedule:

Bel-Aire Park, 124 Marie Drive
Wednesday, June 14
Wednesday, July 5
Wednesday, July 26

Lettie Kendall Park, 300 A Street
Wednesday, June 21
Wednesday, July 12

Lincoln Homes, 20J Howard Street
Wednesday, June 7
Wednesday, June 28
Wednesday, July 19

Kleeman Center, 166 Cunningham Lane
Monday, June 5
Monday, June 26
Monday, July 17

Summit Heights, 20 Summit Heights
Monday, June 12
Monday, July 24

Edith Pettus Park, 345 Farris Drive
Monday, June 19
Monday, July 10

Want to be a part of this awesome program? Booth space for approved vendors is free and includes a tent, table and chairs. Each booth must provide an activity for youth and teens. Visit www.cityofclarksville.com/parksrec to sign up!

If you would like more information on Summer Night Lights or would like to volunteer, please contact Clarksville Parks & Recreation at (931) 645-7476 or visit www.cityofclarksville.com/parksrec.

For up-to-the-minute updates, be sure to “like” Clarksville Parks & Recreation on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. You may even see your photo on the page! Mark your calendars and tell your friends, because it is sure to be a great time!